Purdue University


Contact Address

401 North Grant Street, KNOY Hall
West Lafayette, IN 47906
[map it]

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Greg Shaver, Dr. Olga Wasynczu, Dr. Henry Zhang, Dr. Peter Meckl and Dr. Eric Dietz
Team Leader: Adam Fogarty and Hoatian Wu
Communication Managers: Alexandra Johnson
Business Managers: Joe Maddy 

Team Description
The EcoMakers are a diverse team of undergraduate and graduate students, faculty advisors and additional university mentors across various colleges and schools at Purdue University. The team is composed of three technical subgroups: front drivetrain, rear drivetrain and controls. These engineering and technology students work together to design and implement the team's chosen vehicle architecture. In addition to the technical teams, the business and communications teams manage media, community outreach and fundraising for the Purdue EcoMakers.

Vehicle Design
The Purdue EcoMakers selected a parallel-through-the-road (PTTR) plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) as their final EcoCAR 2 architecture. The vehicle can be plugged into a standard wall outlet to charge a high-energy-capacity A123 Systems battery, and it can run in electric-only mode. With a 45 kW Magna E- Drive motor, the vehicle will be propelled solely by the electric rear drivetrain. The 1.7 L diesel engine, which operates the front drive train, will help power the vehicle if the acceleration demand is higher than what the electric motor can provide. Once the battery charge is depleted, the front drivetrain will take over, and the vehicle will be powered solely by the B20-capable diesel engine. The rear drive train will continue to function for regenerative braking and to supplement the engine for brief periods when the acceleration demand is high.

Sign Up for Mailing List

Having 15 teams participate in the competition means there is always news!

I want:   

*Please Note: This is NOT meant for the ecocar2@anl.gov list serve



Flickr Feed


EcoCAR 2 is an Advanced Vehicle Technology Competition (AVTC) managed for the U.S. Department of Energy by Argonne National Laboratory. Learn more about EcoCAR 2 →